WearyResilient – BothAnd

 

Wow, what a time we are in. Our upcoming Zoomcast series on Resilience could not come at a better moment. 

“I feel tired,” a friend said. And: “No offense, professor,” a student of African descent said to her 40 Zoom-mates and me in class on Monday, “but I really don’t want to be here. If I want to see bad leadership I can just turn on my television.” Her weariness was palpable.

If you are of African descent, you have almost certainly said, perhaps many many times the words of Fannie Lou Hamer, “I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.” Among the many things that our African American friends can teach us, out of the necessity of their life is:  How to persevere.  For many of us who are not African American, we are seeing their experience – clearer, deeper, for the first time, or again – and we are tired. Tired of the violence they experience. Maybe so tired we can see past our collective – if not individual – guilt or shame or denial or fragility. And in the streets with “them” who are “us,” we realize what we do not know about what it feels like for them. And we all hope or pray or take action.

If ever there was a time for all of us to build resilience – and the resilience that allows us to act with courage – it is now.  Our team at LX2 has been planning and now can announce a 3-part series, Resilience: Stories, Wisdom and Practices. We’ll bring you three amazing human beings for whom resilience has not been a nice add-on but an unavoidable necessity. We hope you will join us for one, if not all, of their talks and engagements with us.  Here’s a brief description:

Thursday, June 18, 2020 | 10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm EST

Knocked Down, Sitting Up, and Taking One Step at a Time

A brief talk and conversation with the inspiring and thoughtful Robert Paylor, Cal Rugby All-American. Rob’s life crashed apart in an instant three years ago, but his faith and fighting spirit cause him to be a bright shining light for those lucky enough to know him. Register now!

Wednesday, July 1, 2020 | 11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET

The Rise, Fall and Continuing Rebuild of a Media Phenom

Anne Zehren joins Laura Andersen to share her story of a woman who had the world by its tail until a hard-to-diagnose illness completely upended her life. Hear her stories of what gives her hope and strength as she builds a wholly new life. Register now!

Thursday, July 18, 2020 | 4:00 pm PT / 7:00 pm ET

How Would You Shelter in Place…for 13 Years?

Hear the humble, humorous and heartfelt Andre Matthews share how he dealt with a childhood mistake that put him in “shelter” for over thirteen years. When freed he had high hopes but also inner doubt and outer obstacles. He’ll put our shelter place in a different context and engage with us about how he manages day-to-day. Register now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *